Some people say that schools should concentrate on teaching students academic subjects that will be useful for their future careers. Other people say that subjects such as music and sports are also necessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people advocate that teaching should be more focused on academic subjects, but others believe that schools should concentrate on art or games. Academics, in my opinion, assist in landing a good job, however, artistic activities and sports ensure the well-being of a student and provide an opportunity to build a career in these streams. Studying core discipline is one of the most essential aspects of school learning. It not only can contribute to the cognitive and rational development of the children but also can fetch good grades in exams. Ultimately, these good grades assist children to achieve a good job which leads to handsome salaries and good quality living standards. For example, many multinational companies that offer higher packages have filtering criteria of a minimum of 70% marks to allow scholars to appear for interviews. Hence, the above example vividly illustrates how learning core concepts is crucial. Being active in outdoor activities and creative courses helps students to live a healthy life. Although instructing core subjects may consume a portion of time initially, participating in outdoor activities keep students physically fit and mentally relaxed by learning music which in turn benefits learners to attend school a maximum number of days. As per the WHO report, children who regularly play sports attend school 40% more than those who do not play. Thus, physical education leads to the holistic development of a child. Educating art or games as a part of the curriculum opens up career opportunities. In recent times, non-academic fields like musician, athlete, etcetera are providing enough options to explore and build careers. These professionals not only work at their convenience but also earn more than regular professionals. To illustrate, if one plays and win the national level competition in any game, one would receive winning prize in billions along with a high cadre job in the government sector. Henceforth, the aforementioned reasons substantiate the earning opportunities in the fields have to offer. To conclude, although tutoring the main curriculum is vital for child development and attracting good service, training in fields like music and sports, in my view, opens up the chance to settle a career along with the advantages of a healthy mind and body.