It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is an opinion that it is crucial for individuals to take risks, both in their occupational lives and their private lives. For me personally, the benefits of taking risks will outweigh the drawbacks. Not only will they increase the reward potential, but they will also create a resilient mentality. It is true that risks can sometimes be severe. The potential for failure may rise, followed by a negative emotional impact. Many people are afraid to fail, so they are scared to take a risk to try. To illustrate, a start-up business, when it fails to generate profit and must be dismissed, will bring a substantial financial loss that can lead to stress for the founder. However, there are many benefits we might consider in taking risks. Firstly, it will extend the potential gain, just like a quote said, “high-risk, high gain.” We need to take chances and embrace the opportunities that come our way because, many times, opportunities may not come twice. For example, the innovation of the electric vehicle (EV) will create a new market in the automotive industry; it is when Wuling dares to be the first company to sell EV cars in Indonesia that they become a pioneer of EV cars, therefore, be a market leader and gain much profit from it. Secondly, if we succeed in facing and overcoming risks, it will build resilience and boost our confidence in future challenges, so we can be more adaptive and creative in solving problems. In conclusion, although taking risks might have some setbacks, the advantages of prospective gain and a stronger mentality will surpass them. Thus, risks have to be well calculated and mitigated so that we may not suffer greatly when we face them.