The best way to help underachieving pupils is to have compulsory after school activities which they must attend. This way they will become more involved in school and their grades will improve. To what extent do you agree?

Helping underachieving pupils to enhance their degrees and improve their educational skills is crucial, some individuals hold the view that pupils should attend mandatory classrooms after school activites as a way to make a studying progress, while it could be true, this is not always the case. I do believe that there are other alternatives we should consider to tackle this issue. Firstly, those who advocate this viewpoint opine that pupils should get intensive study programs to be able to pass exams with high band scores. For instance, In Egypt, a portion of educational institutions follow this method with pupils who fall behind, or those who do not have the ability to proceed the education process. And as a result of this, a minority of these learners have become able to achieve high marks on the exams. Therefore the successful outcome of the application of this policy is not definite. Some pupils need more study at home with their parents to improve their capabilities instead of attending extra classes. On the other hand, there are numerous alternatives such as determining the underachieving pupils, and customizing classrooms for them during school times instead of excessive studies after school. For example, In Saudi Arabia, primary schools apply this policy in order to encourage pupils to succeed in their curriculums. besides, tutors have a significant role to play in pushing and supporting underachieving pupils by avoiding complicated methods of teaching, furthermore, utilizing flexible ways such as videos or digital books. If they are forced to attend extra classes, this could not be a comprehensive solution at all. In conclusion, the merits of attending compulsory classes will not outweigh the drawbacks, if we consider other factors such as; teaching methods and family roles, we could mitigate this issue and really help underachieving pupils.