Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Residing in a different language -speaking nation often leads to several social issues and real-life issues. I strongly concur with this statement because non-native speakers usually face troubles to thoroughly communicate with others, as well as to explain and understand speeches fully. First of all, living in a neighbourhood where everyone's mother tongue is different can create a lack of communications between neighbours. This is because non-native speakers cannot firmly interact with native speakers. It is not an easy task to grasp a different language. Hence, many non-natives have difficulties in fluency and pronunciation, resulting in nervousness and fear while talking. Eventually, they become introvert as they think that they will not be able to mix with native people. Moreover, they feel uncomfortable while speaking, and have a tendency to avoid interaction with local people. As a result, they cannot build friendship and maintain expected relationship with the people of the community. For example, A research paper published by Harvard University on 2014 depicted that 74% of immigrants, whose primary language is other than English, did not had a solid connection with the residents of the society they live in. In addition to these communal difficulties, living as a non-native can also cause daily conversational problems. To interpret, non-native speakers cannot express their ideas firmly in verbal discussions as they lack the skill of doing it. Furthermore, they sometimes cannot comprehend the full meaning of speeches of native speakers, as well as they fail to understand the accent of the speaker. As an example, one of my elder sisters recently moved to Australia, she has told me that she has to struggle a lot to clear out her intentions in conversations with the natives, as well as she finds it difficult to understand the Australian accent. In conclusion, the number of people who live in a community where the main language is not their mother tongue is ever-increasing; however, the language can be the barrier of the communication in this condition. Therefore, I wholeheartedly agree that this condition can create social complications such as communication difficulties, and practical complications like expressing and understanding ideas.