Some people believe that planning for the future is a waste of time because they think that focusing on the present is more important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a debate on whether focusing on the present is better than planning for the future. While I believe that planning is logical, I do agree that focusing on the present should be a priority. On one hand, it is admittable that planning for the future can be very beneficial as it is similar to drafting a blueprint. This method is extremely useful for completing multiple tasks quicker and with ease. However, it is harder to navigate when something inevitably goes wrong, then we would have to replan and postpone what initially would have been progressed, which will greatly affect the workflow and worsen the situation; without actions, there will never be progress. For example, if there is a fire and you do not act quickly, you will prominently die. On the other hand, while focusing on the present is incredibly unpredictable, it does yields better results in handling situations. By putting all of our efforts into clearing the first task ahead of us, we are able to successfully complete one objective and move on to the other. Furthermore, it leaves room for improvements, which will create better opportunities, and better opportunities yield greater success. When circling back to the fire example, if you are able to compose yourself and act quickly, the probability of dying is low. In conclusion, I believe that it is best to focus on the present while having a level of planning beforehand. It is always best to never go in blind but to always have a fallback plan in case; there needs to be a present for a future.