The restoration of old buildings in major cities in the world costs enormous government expenditure. This money should be used in new housing and road development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The costs of preserving old structures in major cities in the world are quite high. Thus some people argue that the expenditure should be used to developing new buildings and roads. As both proportions are equally important, I am inclined to stand netural neutral with the statement. A discussion of this issue as well as my thoughts will be highlighted in the write-up. Initially, one of the main arguments for its rejection is that old buildings represent the culture and history of a country. They stand for symbolic meanings from the old days, which reveal their values of existence. In many countries, ancient buildings become attractions and landmarks. Take Rome for an example, enormous tourists visit there to appreciate historical heritages. The unique and significant impression causes Rome to be different from other cities and enhances the local tourism industry. It is perfect evidence that maintaining old buildings can make profits. Therefore, the expense of maintenance is essential. At the other end of the spectrum, the development of a country should be prioritized because basic requirements like infrastructure and sanitation are imperative. They will improve the residents’ daily lives and strengthen their safety. Besides, new constructions will expand job opportunities and bring diverse possibilities to the future. Therefore, building new housing and roads contains people’s expectations for a country’s growth. In conclusion, both the issues of keeping old structures and constructing new constructions are pivotal. It is critical to strike a balance between restoration and investing in new housing and roads, which address modern needs and urban growth. Governments need to consider the long-term benefits and priorities of their expenditures to best serve the interests of their citizens.