Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

It is true that different kinds of commercials and promotions appear everywhere in our life. There are voices against advertising simply because it leads people to make a purchase of unnecessities, while others think consumers would have access to know new products that may be helpful to them. In my opinion, both views make their own sense. To begin with, incorrect and misleading commercials are certainly not favourable in guiding consumers to buy items they need. We were immersed by different kinds of products recommendation on TVs, and on the internet, so it is hard for the majority of people to distinguish what purchase should be made. For example, some recommendations of products in newspapers such as nutrition commercials may be attractive to elderly readers, they may easily trust that advertisement, even though the functions or features of a certain product mentioned in the ads are not true. They may still make decisions to buy, which could be a waste of money. Although some commercials are annoying and may contain untrue information, which seems to be useless, there are still plenty of ads that made their purpose in recommending the right product to target consumers. Many social media platforms, for instance, Instagram and Facebook, which heavily relies on big data and information technology, could provide accurate product recommendations to viewers based on their interests. In this case, consumers may be willing to watch these ads and may decide to make a purchase. Therefore, it is a double-win for both consumers and businesses. In conclusion, it is no doubt there are commercials with misleading content and are not favourable for consumers, they could still find useful products from the right ads.