The influence of human beings on the world’s ecosystem is leading to the extinction of species and loss of biodiversity. What are the primary causes of the loss of biodiversity? What solutions can you suggest?

One of the most imperative environmental concerns in the modern age is the extinction of species and the risk to biodiversity. It is widely believed that humanity should take responsibility for this problem. Although climate change and illegal human activities are negatively impacting wildlife, this issue can be addressed by the governments enacting regulations on poaching and by investing in more conservation programs. The primary reason for the loss of biodiversity is illegal human activities such as poaching, overfishing, and wildlife trafficking. Having that said, certain species have specific values that tempt hunters with the potential for profit from selling endangered animals on the black market. Thereby, without understanding the importance of a balanced ecosystem or nature in general, there will be a surge in the number of people hunting for a living while the populations of their prey remain steady, leading to an unbalanced ecosystem. As a result, this can end up with a wider range of animals dying out, impacting the food chain and the diversity of life in wildlife. Another significant factor contributing to the decline in biodiversity is climate change. In other words, the environment and climate are closely linked, so if one is impacted, the other will be affected as well. In fact, when the climate in an area changes, the average temperature rises, making it uninhabitable for many species. Consequently, these species will then move to other areas, disrupting the existing habitats and food chains as this can lead to conflicts between species and ultimately result in a loss of biodiversity. This problem can be addressed in several countries by implementing limitations and better supervision over people who commit or intend to commit activities that are illegal in wildlife. To explain further, the increase in illicit wildlife activities is caused by lax laws, which provide opportunities for those who seek to evade the rules. Unfortunately, when individuals are caught storing the skins and horns of endangered animals, they can often escape with minimal fines, despite calls for more severe punishments. Therefore, strengthening government regulations on who can access wildlife and for what purposes would help ensure the peace and safety of many species ' habitats. Besides the authorities should improve the enforcement of laws to reduce biodiversity loss, more conservation programs need to be organized, requiring government investments. Simply put, while efforts to prevent species extinction have been made, the existing consequences cannot be neglected. Having that in mind, conservation programs, including breeding plans for endangered species, are essential for habitat recovery. However, these programs require financial support, and collaboration between authorities and organizers. Hence, if the authorities consent to provide support, there will be no concern about the worsening of biodiversity loss. In conclusion, the loss of biodiversity is a significant issue in the modern world as reductions in populations of certain species are noticeable and considered inevitable due to impulsive human poaching and climate change. Yet, if governments tighten regulations on approaching wildlife and invest in conservation programs, it is certain that this problem will be overcome soon.