In Spite Of The Advances Made In Agriculture, Many People Still Go Hungry. Why is this the case? What we can be done about this problem?

In recent times, it is saddening to know that in spite of the contribution of the government towards the improvement of the well-being of its populace, the agricultural sector still suffers. More so, it has failed to show any sign of improvement which has really caused famine in the land. Gladly, this essay will narrate the causes and also proffer solutions to them. To begin with, most fertilizers that are being supplied to the majority of the farmers are either fake or inadequate. For example, taking the northern part of Nigeria as a case study. In the year 2019, the Ministry of Agriculture supplied free 100 tons of fertilizer and only 20 tons were accounted for. More so, it is evident that the supply chain is being truncated by some cabals. In addition, insecurity can also be listed as one of the problems causing the unavailability of food items in society. For example, in 2020 Benue state in Nigeria is predominantly the food basket of the nation but due to kidnappings, most farmers have abandoned their farmlands. Furthermore, the issue of lack of food supply can be tackled properly by the governing body by making sure certain steps are taken. This can be achieved by making sure all manure supplies get to the end user. Also, the authority should enlist the services of more security operatives. For example, the Nigerian government can enlist the services of So-Safe and Civil Defence personnel to increase the safety of the farmers and their farm products. In conclusion, all necessary measures listed above are majorly human factors and fortunately can be controlled. Putting the right measures in place, there will certainly be an upturn in the circulation of farm produce.