These days the fashions in clothing are constantly changing. Is this affecting individuals and the environment in a positive or a negative way? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your knowledge and experience.

In today's world, there is a heated debate as to whether the continued changes in dressing trends have impacted people and the environment positively or negatively. Some argue that the former is true, while others hold the opinion that the non-stop switch in clothing tastes is indeed a cause for concern. In this essay, I will discuss both views and provide a balanced perspective. On the one hand, it is a prevalent belief that the sustained change in attire preferences affects the consumer and the surroundings negatively. Proponents of this thought think that it is costly to cope with the changing fashion every day, as the buyer has to dig deep into their pockets to buy every new clothing item in the market. This trend is believed to cause financial challenges for the person, and they may fail to pay for other essential products and services. Additionally, the production of these clothing items on a large scale by factories daily poses a great threat to the surroundings. Firstly, there will already be a huge heap of clothes on top of which more clothes are produced. Disposal of such regalia threatens the surroundings, as some of them are thrown into rivers or burnt. In both cases, the surroundings is polluted. The fabrics from these clothes are normally sprayed with chemicals, and these chemicals might lead to the water in the river becoming dangerous for consumption and domestic use. Similarly, the burning of attire as a way of disposal to make way for new ones dirties the air. When individuals inhale the dirt in the air, they suffer complications in the lungs. On the other hand, the other view is that it actually influences the public and the surroundings in a good way. Advocates of this school of thought opine that individuals who can afford to maintain pace with this fast-paced transformation in style benefit from the prestige, confidence, and enhanced self-esteem that comes with it. When people dress well and are always trendy, they gain respect from their peers, workmates, and family members. This boost in esteem catapults one to success. In terms of the environment, the rising revenue from the fashion industry can be used to mitigate the impacts on the environment by companies as part of corporate social responsibility. Clothes companies can donate part of their income to the cause of environmental conservation globally. When this is done, the adverse consequences of their actions on the atmosphere and water bodies are evened out by their philanthropic contribution. In conclusion, while the obvious adverse result of the vogue industry on individuals and the environment is undeniable, both sides of the divide present valid arguments regarding the matter. In my opinion, it is important that fabric factories engage in an environmentally-friendly approach in their production process and also consider their customers' inability to sustain the accelerated changes of their fashions while reaping its benefits. That being said, they should go slow in their constant changes and lend a listening ear to their customers regardless of class.