It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some argue that when individuals have innate talents since they were born while others believe that people can learn certain talents and become expert in it. Although it is not uncommon that in a family, the members have the same skills as their parents, this essay believes that anyone can be taught to be an excellent artist or athlete since they receive guidance from a young age. On the one hand, folks believe that talented individuals are born with certain aptitudes because they may inherit them from their parents. This is because it is a common phenomenon when a father or mother shows excellent talents and their son or daughter may have the same aptitudes. For example, a well-known painter, Picasso, who has many famous painting pieces, had a son who followed their path as a painter. His son also had breathtaking artworks that were acknowledged by the world. People believe that the son inherited the ability and the sense of art from his father. However, this essay thinks that this idea could be misinterpreted because the son probably had an incessant exposure to the art world because of his father and through this process, he grew an interest and decided to pursue it. On the other hand, the remaining believe that any kids can learn and master talents as long as they persistently learn them and get professional guidance. This is because, at an early age, children’s brains are like sponges that can absorb knowledge, including new skills. Having professional tutors helps them to expedite their mastery. They can point out where to improve, therefore the learning process becomes more efficient. For instance, research shows that adults who possess impressive aptitudes, the majority of them started their training at a young age. This essay thinks that any talent can be learned as long as folks want to pour their effort into it. In conclusion, even though having skills that you are good at is believed as the apple falls near the tree, putting effort into learning something at a young age will create talented adults because at an early age children’s brains have a higher ability to absorb new things.