These days the fashions in clothing are constantly changing. Is this affecting individuals and the environment in a positive or a negative way? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your knowledge and experience.

In the ever-changing world, alteration in the fashion industry is no exception. However, such continuous change can negatively impact the people and the surroundings by increasing their unnecessary expenditure and excessive resource consumption respectively. Individuals mostly prefer to be in trend with fashion in order to imitate celebrities. This habit not only can lead to extravagant spending but can also develop the habit of showing off which can bleakly affect during the lows of one’s life. In addition, people begin forgetting their inner personality and start believing that up-market clothes can foster their self-confidence. To exemplify, under peer pressure, teenagers are highly cautious about their dresses and often try to wear the latest designs to attract attention. Hence, the above reason and example vividly illustrate the effect on individuals. The constant production of wearables requires a great amount of resources. Although high demand in the market is good for the economy, the increased requirement surge the demand for raw materials which affects the ecosystem in multiple aspects. Firstly, tons of water are needed to grow cotton which is the most prominent ingredient for the production. Secondly, in order to fulfil the requirement, acres of fields are essential which can ultimately decrease the portion of eatable crops. Finally, the cotton crop reduces the fertility of the region which makes it unusable for agriculture for a longer duration. As per the report issued by Agricultural Ministry, Calcutta has the largest barren land because of the high amount of cotton production. Thus, the aforementioned reasons substantiate how fashion badly affects the environment. To conclude, the increased urge to purchase fashionable attires not only affects human beings by causing financial burden but also negatively influences the ecosystem by using immense water, diminishing food crops and degrading the health of the land.