Many people believe that social networking sites, such as Facebook have had a negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, different online Platforms are used by most of the public. While utilizing these sites has a beneficial impact on both individuals and the community, it also can have a detrimental effect on the population. In my view, using social media platforms, including Facebook, is important if used in an appropriate way. One main reason why Online platforms are essential is that they connect people who live in different places. To give a clear example, I use What-is-up to call my siblings domiciled overseas. This service is free and only requires Internet access and a smartphone. Therefore, social media plays a pivotal role in helping people connect with their family members, relatives, friends, or colleagues. Another reason why social networking sites are important is that they can give us access to knowledge. That is to say, learners who want to gain new skills, or learn online from home have the opportunity to connect with schools and tutors that provide virtual classes. For example, I took an online one-to-one course from the British Council by attending virtual classes and using Zoom video calls. As a result, I was able to gain a wide range of language skills and improved my language level to a higher level while I stayed at home. Despite all these advantages, Internet platforms have a negative impact on individuals, society, and the local community. On one hand, some people, particularly the young have become addicted to it. They spend a huge amount of time browsing various sites, including YouTube, TikTok and Instagram, mainly at night. This is likely to have a detrimental effect on their sleep and school performance. On the other hand, these platforms were also used to trigger violence. In India, particularly, people used it to violate and spread hate against minorities, including Muslims and Sighs. I believe that parents, schoolteachers and the local authorities should take responsibility to make sure that these web pages are used appropriately. To conclude, although social media has many positive sides, such as enabling people to access knowledge, and communicate with one another, it can also lead to problems, including Internet addiction and using it as a violent tool. It is our responsibility to ensure the right use of these sites.