The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education, or shopping. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The sole approach to diminish the amount of traffic in societies is to abate people's need for their commute for work, shopping, and educational purposes. In my point of view, I completely disagree with this idea to control the traffic jam. On the one hand, technology has improved rapidly in recent years. Many people are able to do their work remotely or buy what they require in their daily life by clicking on a button. It can save individuals time to do their other tasks or spend time with their family rather than when they should go to the workspace or shopping mall. For instance, some people moved to the countryside because they did not need to go to the office during the pandemic so they had more time to be with their family. On the other hand, staying at home instead of going to work or going to university has its own drawbacks.The first one is it can contribute to physical and mental problems. From a physical aspect, muscles can be weak long term. In addition on the mental side making new friends and staying connected with them can be immensely difficult for the person and after a period of time, it can make cause depression. For example, the majority of people who just stayed at home need counselling sessions to overcome their difficulties. The second one is productivity. Not only are some people more productive at work but they also have better situations when they are in their own office. For instance, they can have conversations or spend time at the gym with their colleagues which can be beneficial for each of them. In conclusion, although remote working and shopping is available in recent years, it has several disadvantages such as physical or mental difficulties and less productivity. I would definitely have chosen to go to the workspace during the pandemic if I had had the chance to decide.