Some believe that more academic subjects such as chemistry, physics and history should be taught in schools, while others believe that students will derive more benefit from studying practical subjects, such as motor mechanics and cooking. Discuss both views and provide your own opinion with relevant examples.

Educational institutions around the world have been trying to find the best mix between academic and practical courses. Although academic subjects have been the primary focus for a good number of years, I believe practical ones are gaining more attention recently. On the one hand, academic courses, such as chemistry and history, are of vital importance for students. First, by studying those courses in high school, students are equipped with the fundamental knowledge to continue their higher education, especially in science fields. For example, in order to be an environmental scientist whose job is to preserve the environment, a student certainly needs to acquire complex knowledge and be fluent in academic theories. Second, academic courses are necessary because they help graduates land higher-paying jobs. In fact, most high-salaried workers are required to have intricate understandings of their disciplines, which can only be achieved if they have taken academic subjects. On the other hand, practical programs, including mechanics and cooking, are necessary for the majority of people. Since many people do not want to commit years of their lives to a college education, these programs allow the majority to make a living much earlier. This would have a variety of positive impacts on society as there would be fewer unemployed workers, which also means fewer crime cases. In addition, companies today tend to place more emphasis on workers who have solid practical experience. For instance, in order to be a hotel manager, one is required to finish his or her training courses, which are usually non-academic. In short, both views appear reasonable to a certain extent. However, I believe practical subjects are more crucial for most people and every school should make an effort to prioritize them over academic ones.