Children nowadays watch significantly more television than those in the past, which reduces their activity levels accordingly. Why is this the case? What measures can you suggest to encourage higher levels of activüy among children? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience.

In today's fast-moving life technology has been proven to be a blessing but it has some disadvantages also. It is seen that nowadays children spend longer hours watching television rather than playing outdoors. In this essay, I will shed light on the reasons behind the problem as well as suggest some appropriate solutions to the problem. First of all, one of the major causes of increasing screen time is a hectic lifestyle. Parents are busy with their jobs and they are unable to pay adequate attention to the activities their child is doing in his leisure time. For instance, both parents are working they return to the house after a long day and want to rest as a result they allow their child to play on their mobile phone so that they can have a nap. Secondly, there are many new video games in the market which children love to play resulting in increased screen times. Moreover, migration to cities into small houses without proper playing space has made children to be engaged in indoor activities only. However, to tackle this problem as it has many adverse effects on the health of children; parents need to balance their personal and professional lives. Also, they should make rules such as no phones on dining table and should allow children to use screens for a certain amount of time only. To conclude, it is evident that children nowadays prefer staying indoors and have become 'couch potatoes' but joint efforts can help to mitigate the problem.