Some believe that more academic subjects such as chemistry, physics and history should be taught in schools, while others believe that students will derive more benefit from studying practical subjects, such as motor mechanics and cooking. Discuss both views and provide your own opinion with relevant examples.

Educational institutions around the world have been trying to strike a balance between academic and practical courses. Although academic subjects have been the primary focus for a good number of years, I believe that practical ones are gaining more attention these days. On the one hand, academic programs, such as chemistry, physics and history, are of vital importance for students for some reason. First, by studying these programs in high school, students can acquire fundamental knowledge to continue their higher education, especially in science fields. For example, in order to become an environmental scientist whose job is to preserve the environment, a student certainly needs to be equipped with complex knowledge and be influential in academic theories. Second, academic subjects are necessary because they help graduates land higher-paying jobs. In fact, most high-salaried workers are required to have an intricate understanding of their disciplines, which can be only achieved when they have taken academic courses. On the other hand, practical programs, including motor mechanics and cooking, can be greatly beneficial to the majority of people. Since most people do not want to commit years of their lives to a college education, practical subjects can help them make a living much earlier. This would have a variety of positive effects since there would be fewer unemployed workers, which also means fewer crime cases. In addition, companies are increasingly looking for employees who have solid practical experience. For instance, in order to be a hotel manager, an employee is required to finish training courses which are usually non-academic. In short, both views appear plausible to a certain extent. However, I would argue that acquiring practical knowledge would be more beneficial to the majority of students, which is the reason why practical courses should be prioritized over academic ones.