Around the world, rural people are moving to cities and urban areas, so populations in the countryside are decreasing. Is this a positive or negative development?

In the modern world, being a resident of an urban area has become a value in itself. Accordingly, moving from rural areas to urban ones has become a rampant global phenomenon. While there are pros and cons regarding this issue, I fervently believe it is a mostly, yet not utterly, negative development due to the reasons explicated in the following paragraphs. Firstly, a country's fundamental economic bedrocks, namely the agriculture and natural basic materials, would be drastically weakened by mass migration of the rural population. As a matter of fact, rural areas have historically shouldered the vital responsibility of providing infrastructural goods for cities and particularly to industries. As a result, with fewer labor in those areas, the pillars of industry will begin to shatter. For instance, in a country such as Iran with exclusive reliance on saffron exports, fewer farmers on Saffron fields would mean an immediate plunge in export rates. Secondly, the more people move from rural regions to cities, the more oblivion will threaten a country’s authentic cultural identity. Interestingly enough, megacities all around the world resemble each other in a disquieting manner. In other words, they all appear to be hectic, noisy, competitive, and they have fallen into an indiscriminate cultural similarity brought about by the concept of globalization. It is therefore only in rural areas where we may still find cultural authenticity. For example, one can compare and contrast Tokyo with any other Japanese small town to discover that the former seems bereft of any authentic identity these days. However, it is not undeniable that people, in an individual scale, will be gifted with more opportunities for personal development in capitals and bigger cities in terms of education and career opportunities. With all due respect to the precious rural values, it is a universally accepted notion that a rural citizen who has received high urban sophistication and education is prone to be of great achievements enhancing the national life quality, including the small cities. In conclusion, I am personally of the opinion that migration of rural population to the cities is a mainly negative issue with devastating consequences although there is some silver lining as well. The negative consequences include, yet are not limited to, the decline in basic goods produced in rural areas for main industries, and the disappearance of the nations’ authentic culture, usually well-preserved only in small towns. However, the sophistication provided by big cities will satisfy the national interests.