In recent times, many people have focused on the negative effects advertising has on children’s health, behaviour and family relationships. Advertising to children should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertising has been blamed, to some degree, for many of the issues society faces. In particular, numerous people are concerned with the negative impact advertising can have on children and their health. Obesity is a growing concern and at the same time many producers of unhealthy products specifically target younger consumers, who consequently place pressure on their parents. A number of factors contribute to the obesity problems of children, such as an increase in the use of computer games and busy working parents; however, it cannot be denied that advertising plays a role. Firstly, there are issues with the quality of the products that are targeted at young people, which by and large are unhealthy, but it is also the manner in which companies choose to promote their products. Associating a product with a sport or athlete may give children the impression that the product is healthy, although clearly it may not be. Not only are there concerns with what is sold and how, but there is also growing concern about the influence children have over household spending. Advertising can result in increased pressure on parents to buy everything their child wants. In order to combat this problem, some countries have banned advertising to young children completely, and in other countries, such as Greece, they control the channels and times when products for children can be advertised. My own view is that the physical health of children is a major concern facing society and advertising is making it worse. While communities are faced with such challenges, governments need to take more control. Therefore, advertising to young children should be banned or at least strongly controlled by the government.