In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Development and civilization are two components of human nature that has resulted in human evolution. All the changes that have occurred in the history are associated with these two factors either directly or indirectly. The motivation behind many of choices and decisions that people make is also rooted in their passion for change and development. That is why many prefer to seek their dreams in big cities instead of sticking with a more rural and traditional lifestyle. A decrease in the countryside population, however, comes with a prices as does any other change and it is because of its consequences that I only partially find it positive. In the following paragraphs I will explain my reasons further. The sky is the limit for human ambitions and a long list of facilities and opportunities are required for such ambitions to come true. Better access to educational centres, libraries, internet and social media, and a network of professional acquaintances as well as more available and lucrative employment opportunities are some of the many reasons for which people decide to move into big cities. The rural lifestyle, on the other hand, is evolved in a way to only support different activities like farming and for an ambitious person with a dream of a bright future, such lifestyle is practically useless. I find it quite reasonable, therefore, for everyone to see big cities as their professional utopia. As mentioned earlier, however, everything comes with a price and in this specific case I assume that the consequences not only affect the individuals but they also affect the society as a whole. For instance, those moving to big cities have to deal with loneliness, more work pressure and stress, different sleeping schemes, unbearable cultural shocks and lack of healthy food and weather; things that they did not have to deal with in a rural environment. A continuous decrease in the countryside population, on the other hand, means a sharp rise in the population of the urban areas that brings economic, social and even psychological hardships upon the citizens due to difficulties in resource distribution. Much of food resources in the urban areas also relies on the material produced in the countryside and if more and more people decide to quit their jobs as farmers or gardeners, then the results may just be catastrophic. In summary, I find such migrations reasonable as long as the balance is kept between the population of both rural and urban areas and that is only possible by having a realistic perspective. Weighting big cities against the countryside and understanding their pros and cons before making any important decision helps people with avoiding hastily made decisions. The government can also play an important role by improving some facilities in the countryside to provide people with their basic needs, lessening the need for abandoning countryside.