More and more countries are making university education completely free for their citizens. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Education is a fundamental right for the public to have to expand their knowledge and skills. It is essential to promote the prosperity and peace of a country for the future. Thus, making university education free is increasingly popular around the world. I will examine both advantages and disadvantages of the trend. On the one hand, students can gain incredible benefits as their rights to access higher education are secured by the government. For instance, those who have given up studying for the overwhelming financial burden are provided with an opportunity to promote their academic performance. As a result, more people are able to gain sophisticated understandings and techniques regardless of their individual financial backgrounds. This leads to an increasing number of specialists in extensive fields from agricultures to sciences. The graduates will become dependable workforces to sustain local life and the national economy. Furthermore, higher education raises employment rates, which declines concerns about poverty among the youth. On the other hand, the exemption of fees for university has some potential side effects because the financial burden imposed on governments increases dramatically. The larger distribution of the public fund to higher education has some severe damage in other areas. For example, there is an inadequate amount of money to support the welfare system for a growing number of seniors in the modern ageing society. This results in a number of retirees being unable to pay for essentials such as accommodation and food. Moreover, an unstable life makes old people more vulnerable to diseases as they often lack appropriate medical treatments. Therefore, their death rates hike drastically with poor financial support from authorities. In conclusion, financial backup of educational fees from governments encourages more people to seek promising career paths in the future, which invigorates the country's economy in the long run. However, the excessive priority put on youth leads to the neglective service for the elderly.