Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is a controversial subject whether advertisement is still a useful way to persuade people to purchase some products or it has lost its efficiency to draw others’ attention to a particular commodity. In this essay, I will explain some reasons behind both these points of view as well as express the reason why I am on the first side. To proponents of advertising, it is an undeniable fact that it still has its popularity among each society due to some points. The main obvious one is that if they were skillfully designed, they would hit the market with an influx of customers. In other words, the role of using fascinating visual effects has become highlighted so that it can be still a compelling way in which products can be sold. Another further reason would be that although the market competition has been fierce in the last decade, advertising is still the first and foremost way to persuade people to buy some products, but it has just changed its platforms. For example, advertisements had been shown on television in the gap between two movies in the past, however, it has been represented on YouTube or the Netflix website now. On the other side, opponents of advertisement efficiency believe that with the influx of different kinds of advertisement, they have lost their functions so people are not persuaded by them anymore. They consider this competitive market a recession of advertising, not a chance to boost its quality. for instance, many elderlies skip the advertisements between the program they are watching because they believe all of them are designed to deceive them. In conclusion, despite the fact that some people do not agree with the functions of ads, I firmly believe that ads can be kept in their publicity as long as experts are professional enough to make ads in an appealing way.