Young people are often influenced in their behaviors and situations by others of the same age. This called ‘Peer Pressure’. Do the disadvantages outweigh the advantages?

Nowadays, Peer Pressure is an important issue in today’s world. There are some pros and cons to this situation, but I think the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. On the one hand, youngsters influenced by others of the same age bring advantages. When they are influenced by the same generation of men, they will try hard to improve themselves. In a competitive era, many people in the same generation always contest in many fields of life and young men don’t want to be left behind. They tend to take others, especially those whom they admire, as a model to learn and practice under them. So that the youth’s skills can be better and get more information about life. For instance, according to a survey conducted recently in the U.S. shows that which articulated that 61% of the youth were influenced by their companions due to which they had more information about their surroundings. On the other hand, despite its benefits, the disadvantages of peer pressure far outweigh its advantages. Firstly, following a competitive life with others of the same age brings excessive stress. The stress of comparing each other makes the child hard to express their emotions with others and keep that feeling inside. This makes them not relax and brings a stressful life. This can cause bad behaviour in order to release emotions. Secondly, the effect of peer pressure makes the child think more dependent. Pressure from the same-age man forces them to think and act the same as their models, which leads children to follow what they think is true. This makes them lose their independence in their actions and thinking, which leads to a life that depends on other people. To conclude, I agree with people who consider that the drawbacks of peer tension outweigh the benefits of this one.