There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, there is an increased demand for teenagers to be successful in academics. Hence, we have people who are of the opinion that non-academic courses like health education and cookery should be taken out of the school curriculum in order for the children to focus on academic work alone. I completely disagree with this opinion. Firstly, Physical education helps children develop a healthy lifestyle for the future. When children are introduced to such activities early, they get used to such activities and are more likely to carry them on as they age. For instance, people who were part of the track team or football team as teenagers will have a higher chance of seeking out such forms of exercise even at a later age because they got used to doing so as children. Therefore taking it out of the school curriculum could rob the young children of such opportunities in the future. In addition, cooking can also be a form of leisure for the children. During cooking, children can be taught how to make different easy dishes in a relaxing environment that is devoid of the competition that comes with academic work. For example, they can learn how to make different easy snacks and share them amongst themselves, furthermore creating a good time for bonding. If such subjects are taken out, the opportunity to work with peers in a less pressurising environment will be lost. In conclusion, though some people would rather have non-academic courses taken out of the syllabus in schools. I disagree with this opinion because I believe that Physical education can help set children up for a healthy lifestyle in the future, while cookery can be a good form of leisure for the students.