Many people believe that Social networking sites such as Facebook Have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree.

As an introduction, the global development and advancement in technology, are resulted in the rapid rising of a variety of diverse social networks such as Facebook, YouTube, WhatsApp and Viber. Given the current situation, a number of individuals suggest that this will result in detrimental outcomes not only in people's lives but also in society. In my opinion, I strongly agree that social networks are harmful in a number of ways, and will elaborate more on that in my essay. To begin with, social media has an addictive nature that most individuals spend their valuable time on these sites. Therefore, interpersonal relationships are diminished leading to the social isolation of the people. Moreover, this is a negative impact on creativity as well as personal skills. For instance, multiple surveys conducted by different universities found that addiction to social media is one of the leading causes of stress and depression among youngsters due to social isolation. Hence, it is clear that this habit is more dangerous than we thought earlier, especially because of this psychological aspect. Time wasting on these social media sites can lead to impairment in productivity in society. The younger generation who has a huge capacity for contribution to a country's economy is now trapped in the web of the internet which ultimately impairs the income and the development of a country. For example, most young adults spend about three to five hours on less important entertainment instead of working in their full-time or part-time workplaces. So this is a huge nuisance to the entire world. In conclusion, because of the addictive features of some social media, many people believe that it will cause more hazardous outcomes than benefits. According to my belief, I strongly agree with the idea considering all the positive and negative effects.