Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workspace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Universities work as an excellent source of providing a wide range of knowledge in different majors, helping to prepare graduates for their upcoming profession. Some people are advocates of the perspective that faculties ought to come up with a curriculum that covers both the knowledge and skills required in real-world settings. However, others believe that universities would work effectively if only accessibility of information in many subjects is granted. I agree with the last statement almost entirely, and this essay will provide reasons. Firstly, University education is not for everyone as it offers advanced programs for those who want to specialize in some areas related to their major. For example, a literature faculty at the university should have subjects related to this profession, mainly as having biology lessons taught would not be beneficial to them in a million years. Moreover, it would waste time and resources, and the time required for the courses to be completed would be extended. Therefore, subjects prepared at the institutions must be specifically chosen for each work's unique needs in the future. Secondly, teaching a lot of other unrelated subjects would increase the time to fulfill the courses and consequently would result in rocketed tuition costs. For instance, a program that should have been over by three years but extended to four years probably needs more expense. Moreover, some disciplines generally require lab experiments for teaching purposes and then are more expensive than others. At the same time, some don’t need this, and having it on the curriculum would solely increase the tuition price. In conclusion, in my opinion, the main purpose of universities is to provide specific knowledge for many courses and to help graduates pursue their appropriate careers. Whereas teaching useless subjects for a career would increase the expenses for candidates and make it costlier. So, these institutions better focus on determining topics for each course.