the top priority of business is making money, and they do not need to have social responsibilities. to what extent do you agree or disagree

Business has always been known for their top priority is making money, but as time goes by people begin to concern about the social obligations that companies have. While I accept that this perception is somewhat justifiable, I believe that business should do more for society than simply make money. On the one hand, I agree that the primary objective of a stable corporation is to have a sound financial health in order to survive in the dog-eat-dog world. It seems logical that the priority of any company should be to cover up its running costs, such as payroll, rent expenses and utilities. On top of these expenses, companies also need to do some investments in its innovations and improvements in order to remain successful. In other words, one corporation can not make any positive contribution to the pubic if they are unable to pay its bills or meet the changing needs of customers. In these situations, the social obligations of a company become obsolete. On the other hand, companies should not be run with the sole aim of maximizing profits instead they should undertake their responsibility towards society as so as boost their image to the public. One simple obligation that owners and managers have is to treat their employees well, rather than exploit them. For instance, they could pay a living wage on time to ensure that workers have a good quality of life. It would be much better for the living condition of the underprivileged if a business could use a proportion of its profits in order to support local charities, environmental projects or education initiatives. Finally, instead of trying to minimise their tax payments by using accounting loopholes, I believe that company bosses should be happy to contribute to society through the tax system. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that generating profits is the top priority of businesses, I would contend that companies should also make social contributions within their reasonable purview.