Many people believe that countries should produce food for whole population and import as little food as possible.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the cutting-edge era, it is opined by most individuals that nations, rather than distributing food among other countries in large quantities, should be sufficient only for the natives. I completely disagree with the aforementioned notion as it has some drawbacks. My viewpoints along with some examples will be discussed in the upcoming paragraphs. To commence with, there are a plethora of reasons for the disagreement with the asserted statement. The most prominent reason is that due to decline in the import of foreign food items will make locals unaware of the variety of food. In addition, once foodstuff trading is reduced, the country is more likely to face a decline in the economic sector limited variety will be available, demand will soar and prices will be skyrocketed. As a result, no one will be able to gain profit despite the economy will fell down. Probing further, while agriculture depends on weather as well as soil conditions, it is not possible for a country to grow all types of crops. For instance, the apple requires cold weather to grow and in semi-dessert,areas it is not, thus no other option is left for them, they have to import it from other apple-producing countries. according to rational consideration, it would be not practical to rely on minimal local vegetation. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that it will be firmly unfair to the locals as they have to stay back enjoying delicious foreign food items as well as the economy has to face severe detrimental effects. Therefore, it is clear the suggestion of limiting the import of food cannot be supported.