Young people in the workforce are changing their jobs or career every a few years. What do you think are the reasons? Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With each passing year, there is an increase in the rate at which younger folks change the types of jobs they do. This essay aims to elaborate on why I believe this is due to a desire to achieve a better work-life balance and also because they want better pay. Furthermore, I will address why I am of the opinion that the pros outweigh the cons. Everyone desires to create a balance between their job and their lives. With an increasingly ageing population, the workforce is left with fewer persons to complete the necessary tasks. As a result of this, we have younger people working long hours and barely having time for their health, family or personal duties. For example, a survey by Bloomberg showed that more than 75% of people under the age of 30 lack a social life outside of work and are experiencing severe burnout, anxiety and depression. If this is the case, do we not expect them to seek better employment offers? Furthermore, it is evident that the cost of living has drastically increased over the years but salaries remain the same. How then do the youths afford the current standard of living? For instance, renting an apartment in downtown Chicago was just six hundred dollars (600) in 2006; but an analysis done by the World Economic Forum shows that this has increased by over 85%. To be able to survive with the high expenses, they need to work multiple jobs or switch workplaces. The problem with these moves from one company to another cannot be negated. The cost of having to train new employees can be overwhelming for companies. However, you will agree with me that being of a sound mind and being happy with what you are doing is a necessity for being productive at the office (money is said to be a mood booster). The overall satisfaction of employees should be the primary concern of a company, as,without them, the company ceases to exist. In conclusion, with more young folks switching employments due to lack of balance and poor pay, I believe the upsides of these changes outweigh the negatives.