Some people think the government should support artists like painters, musicians, and poets, while others believe this wastes money. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, due to the globalisation and the spread of social media, people spend less time doing culture activities, like visit museums or enjoy an evening in a theatre. Therefore, many people think that is useless that nations spend money to support artists. I partially agree with this idea, and I will explain both point of view in this essay. There are a few important reasons to support artist financially. First of all, artists are essential for maintain and increase the status of our culture. For example, children and teenagers can benefit from this situation, and learn a lot of knowledge as well as develop many skills, like critical thinking and imagination. Furthermore, being an artist is a hard choice, since if you cannot gain fame, you will not earn so much money. In addition, generally, this kind of worker became famous only when they pass away. For these reasons, it is essential that governments offer their help to artists, maybe covering some cost, like the equipment and the rent of spaces. On the other hand, in our society there are many other issues that countries must cope with them. For instance, some nations have a high percentage of unemployed or an ineffective health system. Hence, it is obvious that governments should invest money immediately to tackle these awful situations. Additionally, there are other types of job that are not well-paid, so why governments do not help everybody? In conclusion, I believe that there is not a “black or white” situation, rather each country should spend their money intelligently. In brief, a possible solution could be choosing every year a different area / department that should be supported.