Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly argued that the high levels of sugar in food and beverages pose a threat to people ’s overall health. Personally, I can neither completely agree nor disagree with this statement for a variety of reasons. I partly agree the prices of sugar -contained consumptions should be raised. One of the main reasons can be that the consumers either lack the awareness of various health detriments or simply do not have the discipline to put the fork down. Unfortunately, many people have been receiving completely false information about the claims of health benefits when consuming sugar. Therefore, they are indoctrinated with a belief that sugar is somehow beneficial for their health. However, even if people are knowledgeable of its unhealthy impacts, sugar is extremely addictive, and people often binge eat and consequently reducing their lifespan significantly. For example, in 2011, the FDA organisation enrolled a survey on obesity in the United States. Statistics showed that nearly 40% of American adults were obese, with their reasonings being their lack of knowledge in nutrition or cases of overeating. On the other hand, I partly disagree with this point of view. Firstly, sugary products are often cheap and affordable for a reason. There are countries that are either in a developing status or an economic crisis. In times of calamity, the people are left pocketless or their currency is rendered useless, they are desperate for survival, specifically food. Therefore, countries like the United States have pioneered sugary food and refreshments that are cheap and affordable for the poor and the unfortunate. In conclusion, although there are many health risks that are prevalent in sugary products. I’m convinced that inflating the prices of sugar -related products just to dissuade people from an unhealthy lifestyle is not the only solution.