Some people believe that zoos are inhumane and should be closed down. Others argue that zoos play an important role in wildlife conservation. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, we have zoos all around the world to preserve endangered animals and to the purpose of introducing these animals to people. While some people think that zoos are necessary to protect wildlife animals others believe that this lifestyle is not acceptable for animals and should not be allowed. I will discuss both viewpoints and elaborate the reasons why I side with the latter opinion defending that putting animals in a small place for a lifetime is unacceptable. On the one hand, zoos might play an important role in protecting endangered species by providing them with essential conditions to survive. Since the biggest issue in the wild is difficulty to find food and water sources, zoos can help the animals by providing these basic needs. Furthermore, these controlled places might give a chance for treatment to animals with serious injuries and help to increase their lifetime. More than that, with controlled breeding next generations could be produced and animal genes can be preserved. On the other hand, removing animals from their natural habitats can lead to a lot of problems such as an imbalance in nature. For instance, removing one animal from the food chain can affect all other species in the food pyramid. Therefore, as all the natural balance would be affected negatively changing the natural system should not be that easy. Besides all of these, putting an animal in a very small living place can cause a lot of behavioural disorders also. Consequently, these disorders will lead to other mental and physical conditions. In conclusion, there are some believers that menageries are necessary to keep wild animals alive and protect their generations for long years whereas others argue that zoos are inhumane places for animals as they are way smaller than animals need and change balance of the nature. I believe animal welfare is more important than everything and the protection of endangered species can be done without changing their natural habitats. I opine zoos have gone out of their purpose and have become touristic places only. Therefore, as a veterinarian, I believe as these conditions cause more problems than help, zoos are unacceptable places for animals.