Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Nowadays, because of the glamour of advertising, many people tend to buy luxury goods endorsed by celebrities. Many believe such purchases are entirely due to the celebrity effect rather than a demand for the goods. In my opinion, I agree with this viewpoint. Firstly, purchasers are primarily attracted to the item by the endorser— for example, a celebrity who is famous worldwide endorses a beauty instrument. Many fans will buy it because of the star. What the effectiveness of the beauty appliance is, whether the price of this item is reasonable, and whether they need the beauty appliance themselves, most of them do not consider. Go back to the nature of things and look at them, removing the aura of celebrity. Looking only at the goods themselves, those earrings, rings, clothes, and other goods are not worth the massive price people pay. The celebrity effect often makes consumers lose their minds and spend unthinkingly on many premium and unwanted things. Secondly, advertisements are somewhat confusing. Adverts will highlight the benefits of a product to such an extent that they make consumers more willing to buy it while ignoring whether they need the item so much so that many people have two or three refrigerators at home and many pieces of clothing that have been worn once or twice or never at all. This also creates waste to a large extent. All in all, I think celebrity endorsement will make people buy many things they do not need and make consumers lose their judgement, thus wasting money. People should think about their motives for buying, spend wisely and follow their consumption wishes.