Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, numerous individuals are suffering from obesity issues. Food and drink products which have high levels of surge are one of the causes. So some people suggest making sugary products more expensive to stop people from eating lots of sugar. However, this essay partly agrees with this suggestion as there are alternative ideas. Increasing the price is a good approach to decreasing sugar consumption. As a common rule, the higher the price, the less consumers. Take coffee as an example, I will buy cheap coffee when the price of the lower portion of sugar is cheaper than the higher per cent one. On the other side, there are more solutions to keep customers from eating too much sugar. Firstly, governments should enforce food producers to mark the detailed per cent of all the ingredients, which will work for decreasing sugar consumption. For example, people will avoid ordering high- sugar level dishes or drinks in the restaurant or buying high-level sugar products when they are shopping in the supermarket when they know the sugar proportion clearly. On top of that, educating the public on the side effects of sugary goods is another awesome scheme. Governments or non-profit organisations could raise public awareness about healthy eating, what’s more, the causes of obesity and other health issues. For instance, a scientific illustration of sugar consumption and its consequence will deter sugar consumption. In conclusion, adding the price of sugary food and drink will discourage individuals to consume high amounts of sugar. But consumers will eat less sugar when they know the exact per cent of sugar in the meals and drinks together with its bad effects.