In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the counryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or negative development.

In numerous nations worldwide, the population of rural areas is declining due to the immigration of people from rural areas to metropolitans. I believe this movement has both benefits and drawbacks, which will be discussed in this essay. On the one hand, migration from the countryside to cities has several positive effects. One of the most important ones is job opportunities. In rural regions, people mainly work on land and farms or take care of animals, whilst they could be employed by various recruiters such as industrial factories, famous companies, and retail markets. As a result, people could have a higher wage and a better life quality, and also working in famous companies strengthens their resumes for their future careers. Moreover, continued education is another benefit of moving to cities because, in most parts of the world, rural areas provide only primary and secondary schools, and if individuals intend to go to colleges or universities, they have to relocate to a nearby city. However, there are several negative outcomes of moving to cities. Usually, the elderly do not like to leave their home and start a new lifestyle in cities. They remain alone with lots of agricultural workloads, which is more than their abilities since they do not have enough physical strength, and many suffer from ongoing health conditions. Furthermore, the psychological health of older people could be affected because they might assume that they are abandoned after moving their young family members to cities. It is a fact that the elderly are more prone to depression than other populations, so moving young individuals might exaggerate this issue. In conclusion, leaving rural areas and living in cities have both positive and negative aspects. Although it has job and education opportunities for immigrants, it might negatively impact the lives of those remaining in rural areas in terms of managing their farms and also mental health.