2.More and more people no longer read newspaper or watch TV programs to get news. They get news about the world through the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent years, technology has developed very quickly. People now prefer to acquire news online rather than reading newspapers or watching TV. This issue has become a major concern in our society. It is argued that browsing the internet can be harmful to individuals, despite its evident benefits. I agree that the limitations outweigh the advantages. In the following sentences, I will present arguments from both perspectives. First of all, the decline in the audience reading newspapers is positive for the environment. In other words, we can reduce the utilization of paper. For example, in past years, we had to provide newspapers and magazines about deforestation, which is detrimental to our ecosystem. Another facet is that we can acquire various knowledge through different applications online on mobile phones regardless of location, which is more convenient than before. Additionally, it is a way to save money when we read online instead of buying a newspaper or magazine. Thus, the strengths of getting news online should be seen as contributions to a healthy society. On the contrary, we should not ignore the drawbacks of using the internet, especially for teenagers. For instance, children spend hours on their smartphones playing games, leading to both physical and psychological problems. Another aspect: there is a massive amount of information on the internet that makes it difficult to determine what is true and what is false, making it easier for one to be deceived. Furthermore, the security of the internet raises concerns due to the lack of privacy online. To elaborate, you need to provide personal information when registering on a website, which may be monitored or track your activity online for commercial purposes. In conclusion, although there is vast potential for surfing online, I completely believe that it is a negative development if people over-rely on it. I assert that we should find a balance between its weaknesses and benefits.