7.Some people believe that it is the responsibility of politicians, rather than individuals, to reduce the world’s environmental damage. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The rate at which human activity is damaging the planet is alarming. As awareness of this disturbing situation grows, more steps are being taken to address it. While international governments play an important role in environmental health, it is widely believed that their efforts do not offset those of individuals. To demonstrate this, I will use both personal experiences and non-governmental activities from my country. On the other hand, some NGOs are making progress in the battle for a cleaner world. For example, many Canadian institutions have student organizations that work to raise awareness about changing lifestyles in order to protect the environment. These self-governing organizations help convey messages and actually urge people to make changes for the sake of the natural environment. This suggests that environmental programs do not need to be managed by the government in order to be effective. The contribution of citizens towards the global clean-up effort should not be overlooked. Everyone can help to delay and prevent further damage by reducing their energy consumption and using less fossil fuels. People should switch to energy-efficient lighting; make household appliances more efficient; bring their own shopping bags instead of plastic ones, and use recyclable or reusable products to reduce waste that can pollute water resources. They should also use public transportation instead of private cars to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and fossil fuel consumption. These small gestures can help the environment. All in all, governments should carry out environmental protection on a global scale. However, the effective solution to this problem cannot be separated from the efforts of citizens who play a vital role in reducing environmental pollution.