In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

People have different views on whether it is a problem with an ageing population or not. While there are some benefits to having such an extended life span for society as a whole, I do believe that the advantages are outweighed by the disadvantages. On the one hand, it is beneficial for us to have more older citizens. First of all, they can help us enhance the cohesion of a family and increase their overall well-being. Besides, there is much charity work opened by elder people since they tend to engage more in social improvement services and contribute to the communities to improve the cohesion among the whole communities. For example, having cohesion among households and communities would facilitate the stability of a whole nation. Moreover, it is important for us to learn from them and know the experience that they pass on and the wisdom accumulated from their whole life to offer useful and practical advice to the next generations. In addition, old people have a stronger desire to save money in banks and equip the banks with more disposable deposits, injecting vigour into the national economy. On the other hand, an extended life span would hinder the development of a nation. Firstly, the phenomenon would curb the productivity of the whole country due to their inability to work anymore and inferior creative ability. Under such circumstances, the creativity and innovation of the nation would suffer a lot. In other words, the old population increase much pressure on households to devote more time and finances to accompany one or more elders. Because they are less flexible and create less economic value, their family will pay more attention to taking care of them and investing more money. Furthermore, as the trend becomes a necessary problem, there are exactly huge strain and pressure on both the healthcare and the finance system for local governments. For instance, young labour will pay more in taxes to support social pension insurance to ensure social stability. In conclusion, I can understand the reason why individuals are concerned about the old popularities more than before, and the trend will be an unavoidable problem in society. Therefore, there are more drawbacks than benefits.