10.Nowadays, some older people choose to live in a retirement communities with other people, rather than living with their adult children. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is very common for people to live in nursing homes after retirement, and some view this negatively. However, I believe that this will maintain their mental well-being and reduce the burden on children. On the other hand, the elderly are living a retired life, which can improve their mental health. Because there are so many people in a nursing home, they can communicate and socialize with friends and are less likely to feel lonely. So, it will help them maintain their mental health. In contrast, older adults who live alone tend to isolate themselves, which can lead to mental illness. For example, reports published by UBC show that people with mental illness are often alone, proving that long-term stays in centres are the best way to maintain a good mood. On the other hand, older adults who live in long-term care facilities are less likely to have childcare responsibilities. Because they are taken care of by professionals after retirement, their offspring usually only need to visit them on weekends. This allows enough time for work or family care. While others who live alone may need their children to take care of them on a daily basis, it can seriously disrupt the child's life. For example, most Canadian seniors live in nursing homes and do not care about their children. All in all, while some argue that it is best for seniors to live at home, living in a long-term care facility is a great solution to help them stay healthy and avoid disturbing future generations.