11.Some people believe that arts (such as painting and music) do not improve people’s life therefore the government should not spend money on it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The 21st century has seen numerous technological advancements, the most significant being in health and defence. People argue that art funds should go to medical and the protection of the nation. In my opinion, arts improve mental health and the government keeps a portion of its funding. In this essay, the importance of arts and why the government should keep funding will be discussed. To begin with, it is evident from the past that art makes people mentally sound. Art like sculptures enhances creativity and gives a better understanding of the culture whereas music alleviates stress. For example, a study by Oxford University, London eludes that by listening to music stress levels go down by 50% in an individual. Thus, art like statues and music improve people’s lives in the mental sense. On the other hand, even if the government diluted art funds into health and defence, it will have no significant effect on them. The government ’s fund is largely composed of medical and arms for forces and craft is only a tiny bit of the budget. For instance, In India’s budget, craft has only 0.1% of the budget which is insignificant for other sectors. Hence, the government should keep the craft’s fund as it is now. In Summary, even though a portion of the population thinks that arts do not enhance the quality of life and that their funds should be invested in other sectors. I strongly believe that music and sculptures enrich life in many ways. If the craft is kept alive, future generations could have a glimpse of the current lifestyle and conditions which will help improve their understanding of their past and culture.