In some countries elder people are to work longer and not to retire. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of working beyond retirement age.

As more and more nations age, more and more elderly are encouraged to continue working over retirement age. In my opinion, there are possible benefits and drawbacks of extending individual working life. On the positive side, working beyond retirement age can be beneficial in the following aspects. Firstly, continuing work improves the elderly's financial condition. More years in the job mean more experience, which in turn means more revenue. For skilled jobs, such as doctors, engineers and professors, people approaching retirement age tend to have rich experience and are also in the highest income period of their career. Furthermore, an elder person may find that having a job provides a sense of satisfaction. This is because people who have jobs have a sense of identity and feel they are part of society, which is necessary to maintain a good mental state. Not only that, but the active movement a job provides could help keep one’s body healthy. As physical exercise is important for everyone, especially for the elderly. However, there are possible influences if people work after the average expected years. Obviously, it could damage their health condition. The older a human is, the more rest they need. When the elders do not get enough time to recover, it will pose a huge burden on their bodies, leading to a series of physical problems, even death. Another disadvantage is that the interpersonal relationship can be affected. After investing so many years of one’s life into a career, they deserve a life of leisure and family happiness. If they are still occupied with a job, there will be less time to do what they love to do and enjoy with their family. In that case, some of them may develop a lonely lifestyle. In conclusion, there are benefits and risks to motivating old people to continue their careers. It could maintain health and acquire a sense of fulfilment, meanwhile, it could also result in more exhaustion and solitude. For those who continue to work beyond retirement age, it may be helpful to replace manual work with mental work as much as possible.