Some people believe that children’s leisure activities must be educational, otherwise they are a complete waste of time. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience.

The question of whether children’s leisure activities must be educational has sparked heated debate. Some regard that all events should have their aim or purpose, while others see entertaining events as also beneficial. I personally contend with the idea that leisure activities for kids are not necessarily educational, and other events are also meaningful. In this essay, I will elaborate reasons in more detail and provide my personal experience. First of all, educational events with certain purposes usually bring pressure and can be easily observed. When parents and educators intentionally required students to participate in some particular activities, they become unwilling to cooperate and tend to lose their motivation and curiosity on certain topics. Since, it is their nature that people hate to be forced to do something and so are youngsters, thus, planned events with some goals consistently backfired and ultimately killed the possibility for them. On the other hand, facts are proven that non-educational events can also result in educational values. Playing basketball, for instance, is seen as a mere recreational sport. However, it is well-known that individuals who joined basketball teams have performed better leadership, negotiation skills and teamwork ability. This is because when a team is playing to win, it grows related skills mentioned that equipped themselves, and makes them capable of winning. Therefore, we can end up learning from those events who regards as only complete waste of time. Regarding my personal experiences, while often seen as a recreational activity, watching America TV shows (such as Friends) has brought unthinkable positive effects on me. Indulging in beloved dramas, my English improved to the next level since I was more familiar with its pronunciation and sentence structure. Surprisingly, it was events without a purpose that benefited me. In conclusion, educational events do not always reach their original goals, and possibly cased opposite outcomes. Additionally, entertainment can otherwise provide valuable educational achievements. Therefore, activities for teens should not be detailly planned, and certainly shall not always be educational.