People should look after their health as a duty to the society where they live, rather than for their own benefits. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that some people think we should be responsible for taking care of our own health as a duty to society, whereas others consider that maintaining our fitness is just for our own good. Personally, I believe that both criteria should be given equal consideration. On the one hand, if we underestimate the importance of having good health, it might create a burden on the community. To be more specific, having an unhealthy body might lead to a variety of diseases, and people need to go to the hospital for treatment which sometimes occupies a lot of social resources, especially in countries that provide great social welfare. People might need to pay more tax due to the problems mentioned above. On the other hand, we can get several benefits by maintaining a healthy body. First of all, people who have good health do not need medication and they could save a lot of money. Secondly, with a healthy body, people could be more productive at work which is definitely an essential factor in one’s career. Last but not least, when we talk about well-being, it is not only physical but also mental. Lots of research has shown the importance of our mental health. People with great mental health could live a longer and more positive life. In conclusion, while taking good care of one’s health could regard as a duty to the society where we live, it could also help people to improve their life quality. So it’s a win-win situation to maintain a healthy body for all of us.