In many countries, traditional foods are being replaced by fast food. This has a negative impact on families, individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Fast food has been supplanting traditional foods in many cultures. Many people believe that the implications of this change are negative for families, people and the community. In this essay, I would argue that this phenomenon has an adverse impact on citizens as fast food's increase in popularity can damage not only family relationships but also the nation's traditional food commerce. One reason for my agreement with the negative effects of spreading the fast food business over the food market is that this type of food manufacturing is in nature in contradiction with family roots. This is because dishes made in this fashion are often representing Western communities with an overwhelming desire to consume their meals as fast as possible saving time for other activities whereas in other nations consuming meals with loved ones has an invaluable importance. In these societies, dishes would be made in a way that displays care and love for family members and is often suited to each individual’s taste. For example, Japanese cousins are famous for their taste and the style of cooking which the chef often spend hours in order to make it. By contrast, fast foods are usually produced by the hard boiling of ingredients and are associated with a sense of industrialization. Moreover, the dissemination of fast food can damage the business of serving traditional dishes. The fast food industry has had an edge over other food production businesses because of the lower primary investments required and the overall capacity of food production rate. In comparison, restaurants with traditional cuisine as their main meals largely need costly initial investment and further they cannot compete with fast food manufacturers in terms of the amount of production. Take China for example, where the Fast food industry has captured all of the traditional food markets because of the financial benefits that this types of meals have for investors. Hence, the financial benefits of the fast food industry have made it more profitable to pursue. In conclusion, I would argue that the replacement of traditional food with fast food business has negative effects on the grounds that this new trend of food consumption could be harmful to family bounding, in addition to making it harder for traditional food businesses to survive due to financial advantages of fast foods.