(SOFIA) With the rise of the internet more and more people are getting their news from social media platforms. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Overall, technology has been changing human life, mainly when it comes to communication. As social media became popular, individuals started getting informed through these platforms, because it is more common and practical to read posts on social media without waiting for the newspaper or television programmes. As far as I am concerned, some people use these facilities to create fake news for their own purposes, and as result disadvantages outweigh the advantages. However, the internet helps to communicate faster and simply use, the facts exhibit immediately on mobile phones. Considering the problem of communication on the internet, scammers create similar websites, videos or photographs to attract some people to see and share for our followers and individuals that receive these posts on social media and they tend to believe that. Furthermore, fake news offers different actions and behaviour in our society, they are many examples of fake rumours such as fake terrorism attacks that provoke panic in society and political purposes influenced votes and election results, moreover problems in human health since the dissemination of fake diets, disease treatments and medicine. In addition, normally these scammers are not punished for their own posts, in the best scenario their post is deleted and they continue to produce fake stories to catch visibility. Although, It is important to check the references in real websites, journals, specialists, and articles, before send to friends and family, avoiding the circle of misinformation. In conclusion, it is extremely clear the risks of this disinformation in our society, we need to be more careful about what story is consumed on social media to avoid these problems in the future.