Some people believe that governments should have access to people’s mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without permission. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, information is paramount in a globalization world. For one group of people, data from mobile phone call records and messages could be accessed by the government, and for the other group, this information should be private. This essay will argue these points of view and provide why I agree with allowing the government access for security reasons but not censuring what kind of access people do. On the one hand, some people are concerned that they are being monitored all day and that their messages could be leaked or used for political pretexts. The power to access all messages and records is vast and should be considered the type and credibility of the government. For instance, the claimed reason could be security; however, the government could explore their opposition party to obtain some information, and due to these types of issues, it is better to maintain citizens' privacy. Therefore, privacy and data control are invaluable values to a nation. By contrast, attack threats, drugs, and arms commerce are common in the countries. By monitoring people's devices, the likelihood of finding these criminals turns high. For example, terrorist attacks or illegal trade that could increase violence and the consequences that affect the population's protection could be avoided by tracking people's phones and messages. Hence, the defense of the entire country must be above any privacy. In summary, some people suppose that the government could monitor their devices, and others believe that privacy is on top of this. The authority needs to guarantee its citizens' security. For this, I think they should monitor all types of threats or illegality, nothing beyond that.