Many people believe that studying at university is the best way to develop oneself, learn new skills and find a well-paid job. Other people believe that more is learned from getting a job straight away after school and leaning whilst working. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is an ever-increasing number of job opportunities around the world. It is often argued that the young should study at university in order to obtain updated newest academic skills and earn better pay, while others disagree and feel that it will be more effective to learn practical skills at work day by day. I am in favour of expanding knowledge at tertiary institutions. Firstly, it is clear that universities have provided advanced study curricula to students who become professionals, such as doctors, lawyers and teachers. Having those high qualifications, people devote studying specialised subjects at least for four years or more. Therefore, professionals should have broad knowledge and their salary must meet their load of work and responsibilities. On the other hand, many disagree and think that the working environment has more opportunities to acquire appropriate occupational skills in a professional field. For instance, if you would like to become a chef, a qualification is not required, just you need experience and to learn as you work with senior colleagues or even watch youtube to obtain culinary techniques. Accordingly, this way is by far more productive and cost-effective, rather than studying at universities for four years. Having said that, comparing a qualified chef and an unqualified chef, unfortunately, in our real life the latter would be getting less pay, as qualification will prove the importance of fundamental theoretical knowledge of the profession. In conclusion, the benefits of studying at universities allow students to study officially an approved source of academic education for their professional life, while some still feel that people should be wary of this phenomenon and not suit all young people. However, in my view, students should have legitimate academic skills at universities for acquiring qualifications and as a result of this have more advantages in today’s society.