People think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others believe that there are other alternative solutions for reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion on this topic

In contemporary society, a school of thought holds that increasing sentence length remains the most optimal way to curb the illegality, whereas others contend that other treatments are much more superior and should be applied. Despite the advantages from the former, I firmly believe that other approaches bring more positive outcomes in deterring unlawful activities. Undeniably, it is reasonable to assert that prolonging jail term is the most efficient treatment to lessen crime rate. First of all, this measure is likely to contribute to the safety of other residents. This is primarily because if these convicts are released from prison after a short period, the chances are that they will reoffend, posing a serious threat to the community. Furthermore, the extended time spent in prison may bring about lawbreakers’ rehabilitation. Since giving longer imprisonment is synonymous with the fact that wrongdoers will have time to rethink the underlying causes of their illegal behaviors and subsequently, are filled with the sense of remorse and draw a priceless lesson for themselves, which can lead to a law-abiding life after release. Notwithstanding the mentioned benefits, I still hold the belief that there are other constructive alternatives to curtail criminal acts. One of the most superior solutions is education. More specifically, conveying criminal knowledge via workshops organized by professors or even rehabilitated prisoners who are willing to share their own experience potentially facilitate individuals to gain a deeper insight into the causes leading to crime and life in prisons, and perceive severe consequences when committing. This possibly results in crime abatement as it is deemed that no one wants to get involved in the path which can render them incarcerated. Another beneficial method is to boost job creation. It becomes evident that impoverishment contributes to the proliferation of pecuniary offenses ranging from shoplifting to bank robbery. Therefore, working not only helps them maintain financial independence but it also makes them hectic to engage in illicit behaviors. In conclusion, although putting offenders in jail for a certain time has its distinct benefits such as for the sake of society and their rehabilitation, I remain steadfast in my conviction that other alternative treatments including education and job creation are of more significance to mitigate criminal level