Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extend do you agree?

It is argued that more funds should be expenditure on roads and motorways rather than on public transport. In my opinion, I believe that both thoroughfare and public transportation systems have a vital role to play in modern society, and therefore they should be equally invested in. To begin with, roadways that have good quality will increase the level of safety and reduce traffic congestion. For instance, in many cities and provinces in Vietnam, the number of subways accidents has been ever-increasing because there are a lot of holes in the trail’s surface. This is evident that the authorities should spend money improving road systems to ensure the safety of people. Additionally, building wider roads and more motorways in big cities like Ha Noi or Ho Chi Minh City, where traffic congestion is still a major problem, will help to increase road capacity. It means that there will be more space for a large number of vehicles. On the other hand, better public transport systems are beneficial for the environment and people who do not have private vehicles. It is more convenient to commute by private vehicles rather than waiting for buses and trains, which might be limited in terms of route and time. In fact, some modes of public transport like subways produce less pollutants than cars and other private vehicles. Nowadays, developing countries with overpopulation will lead to increase the traffic density. Therefore, building more public transport systems is the best solution to this major problem. In conclusion, I think the government should spend money on buses, trains, and undergrounds because these transports not only have less pollution but also fulfil the demand of billion commuters in the world