Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar Do you agree or disagree?

Numerous processed foods and beverages are packed with an excessive amount of sugar, which leads to serious health diseases in society, so according to some, the authority should impose heavy taxes on products with high levels of sugar to curb the sugar intake of the population. Despite this, I do not agree that raising the price of sugary items would have a significant impact on the consumption of sugar. To begin with, making sweet products expensive would have a marginal effect on the over-consumption of sugary foods and drinks. This means that since people become addicted to the taste of these, individuals are often willing to pay a higher price to satisfy their addictions. To be precise, when ordinary citizens indulge in addictive sugary items, which are so harmful to their health, as a coping mechanism for stress and depression, levying a surcharge on them by the government would be ineffective.Taking my personal life as an example, I am inclined to drink a soda in front of stressful situations regardless of its price. There are other effective approaches to combating the negative trends of over-consumption of sugary products. In other words, some campaigns should be run by the state to inform the population about the detrimental effects of these items on their well-being. If people become aware of the high rate of chronic diseases such as diabetes, coronary heart disease and obesity due to the excessive consumption of carbohydrates, they would be more inclined to opt for healthier alternatives, which has so many positive impacts on healthcare in the long run. For instance, Iranian people were dissuaded to drink sodas after conducting a campaign in Isfahan with the help of the Isfahan University of Medical Sciences in 2020. In conclusion, imposing higher taxes would not be productive to tackle with excessive consumption of foods contained with high levels of carbohydrates because of their addictive ingredients and a more holistic action should be done by the government including running campaigns to educate society.